Hospital pharmacy “Diaconessen Ziekenhuis Meppel” (Trainee)


apotheek_distributie

Daily pharmacy inventory check

This was an exiting assignment. During my study as a bachelor in computer technology I had to get some hands-on experience in a business environment. So i worked for 4 months as an intern for a hospital pharmacy to maintain and improve their computer system (Digital PDP11 MUMPS) used for stock keeping of medical supplies.

Digital PDP-11 computer

First i had to learn programming in MUMPS (Massachusetts General Hospital Utility Multi-Programming System) that is the most efficient language in the world because every statement can be abbreviated to just a single letter. You can imagine what that will do for source code readability.

X25-PAD

X25-PAD Device

Together with Interpharm a well known pharmaceutical supplier I designed and implemented an fully automated ordering system based on a BSO EDI protocol where data was exchanged via a X.25 protocol on a private network (Datanet-1). All software for data communication, message handling and updating the database had to be written in MUMPS by myself. A real challenge was to get the communications going because X25 protocol was a new technology. The project was completed within three months. To test the system I ordered some coughing potion and the next day it arrived as requested.

Interpharm

Interpharm


The head pharmacist was very happy with my work and i actually received a salary for my internship. The ordering system was demonstrated by me on a national meeting of pharmacists.

11 thoughts on “Hospital pharmacy “Diaconessen Ziekenhuis Meppel” (Trainee)

  1. Hi there, I believe your web site could possibly be having internet browser compatibility problems.

    When I take a look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in IE,
    it has some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide
    you with a quick heads up! Besides that, great website!

  2. Someone essentially help to make seriously posts I might state.
    That is the first time I frequented your website page and up to now?
    I surprised with the analysis you made to make this actual
    put up amazing. Fantastic job!

  3. I have been browsing on-line more than 3 hours as of late, but I
    by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours.
    It’s pretty value sufficient for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  4. You actually make it seem so easy with your
    presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complex and very broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  5. Regularly scheduled meals (every few hours) also have proven
    more wholesome than infrequent, haphazard ones.
    Regardless of whether it’s workplace politics deciding who gets that increase you are
    hoping for metropolis politics determining wherever you are eligible to park downtown
    county politics dictating your quarterly property tax or
    even nationwide politics determining how your
    colleges are funded, politics plays a component inside your everyday life.

    To my head the thought of woman president is one thing speculative,
    going after dark generally accepted rules possibly at the
    very best at the mercy of the theoretical and philosophical comprehension.

  6. Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old
    daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She
    put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a
    hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She
    never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off
    topic but I had to tell someone!

  7. You can buy facebook, instagram, twitter, vine followers, likes, comments and more from PublicBoost .
    com

    I am really loving the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any web browser
    compatibility problems? A handful of my blog audience have complained about my website not operating
    correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any solutions to help fix this problem?

  8. Observo que es un tema absolutamente relevante el que tratas
    en este ensayo. Creo que el argumento quee discutiste
    son merecidos y aportan valor.

    Felicidades por escribirlo. Sigue así ya que soy un honorable
    seguidor en tu blokg y adoro cómo cuentas tus valores.

    We’re a group of volunteers and opening a nnew scheme in our community.

    Your web site provided us with valuable info to work on.
    You have performed a formidable activity and our whole group will probably be thankful to you.

Leave a Reply

